How do I know if I need new shocks or struts?

dvdman

Original poster
Oct 28, 2012
I have been asking a bunch of questions since I got my 2004 GMC Envoy. Everyone has been so helpful. So...coming from a car how do I know if I need shocks or struts? Its a 2004 and they have never been replaced. The ride feels ok. Its not like I bounce or when I hit a bump its rough. I just want to make it the best ride possible since I am fixing it up. I wish I could ride in another GMC/Chevy to compare. I rode in my friends BMW X5 and the ride is sweet. He was taking turns at 40mph and it felt like nothing. What can I do to even come close to that?? Thanks...

Sparky

Dec 4, 2011
Well, you drive a GMT, not a BMW, so... :raspberry:

The BMW also isn't a body-on-frame vehicle with a solid rear axle, so that changes its driving dynamics also.

How many miles are on your truck? You're probably close to being due for new shocks.

I would think that new shocks, lower springs, and stiffer swaybars would help improve cornering capability. Just remember the limitations.

jrSS

Dec 4, 2011
well to take better corners or "ride on rails" u need to lower the center of gravity so u don't get lots of body roll. Which lowering ur ride will get u this. Norcal SS can help u with that. As for the shocks and struts ....oh yea if they are stock they are worn out. Stock shocks are junk.

Voymom

Feb 3, 2012