Antennas

SnowBlazer

Original poster
Jun 9, 2014
Colorado Springs
So I'm about done with my Radio Shack antenna. It barely picks up any radio frequency. I'm new to CB's and such, and just have a Cobra CB that I picked up from Walmart. Having that said, I don't need a fancy antenna for what I need, which is listening to Chanel 9 for weather updates, and other channels for highway closers. Looking at the Wilson Little Wil antenna, but the reviews are so hit or miss, and state that you need a tuner to tune the antenna. :crazy:

Any help will be more than appreciated!

djthumper

Administrator
Nov 20, 2011
North Las Vegas
Actually you need an SWR meter to tune the antenna for transmission. Where do you have your antenna mounted? That makes a big difference because most of the antennas out there are base loaded, this means that the antenna needs to be mounted higher to get your best performance. A Firestik antenna is actually top loaded so the higher the tip of the antenna is the more it will receive. Antenna can only receive in the line of sight, if all they see is a weak signal you receive a weak signal.

Reactions: Trkdrvremt

SnowBlazer

Original poster
Jun 9, 2014
Colorado Springs
No idea what an SWR meter is, (. Maybe I can borrow a meter from one of my Wanna be red neck friends ). Although, I would prefer something ready to roll right out of the box (if that's even feasible).
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1427259773.900650.jpg

My Radio Shack antenna is laying horizontal, zipped tied to my rails to my roof crossbars. I couldn't find anywhere else to put it. I have a vertical bar mount for it (no spring), so my only option is tail light guards and I don't like the look of those. [emoji53]

Dec 13, 2013
Osceola,Ia